top of page
Search

Wave Your Freak Flag Proud With ‘Freak Show’!

This 2017 masterpiece, ‘Freak Show’, is based on a book (as most great movies start out!) with the same title written by James St. James. It stars Alex Lawther (yes, James from The End of the F***ing World), Abigail Breslin, AnnaSophia Robb, Ian Nelson, Celia Weston, Laverne Cox and Bette Midler.

“One must always dare, darling,” says Billy Bloom to the cross-wearing demon queen of high school - and that’s some solid advice! Young Billy Bloomgrew up in his mother Mauv’s glitz and glamour and he is not afraid to wow the conservative high school he has been transferred in where everyone decides to blend in rather than stand out. Along the way, he meets friends, foes and the shadow people. In the end, he pulls a powerful move - wanting to be Homecoming Queen.


I enjoyed this movie mainly because I identified with the main character so much. I am also very flamboyant and out of the box - glitter and glamour are my main languages. As a kid, I always wanted to play with dolls. But, of course, I never had any and well I had to make my own out of foil (yes, foil, but that’s another story for another time, if you want to hear it let me know). Also, I wanted to do makeup and experiment with “girl stuff” and well I became my own Barbie doll at the age of 19. So, I fully identify with Billy Bloom and yes, he also has a mermaid look and it is simply MERMAZING!

The movie seeks to shed light on gender and its constructs in a conservative society and how out of the “norm” gender expression can bloom (yes, pun intended). It also shows the relationship Billy and his father have - avoidant and it resonates a lot with my own personal situation with my father.


I highly recommend this movie for its message but also the aesthetics within the movie. The music fits the scenes and the locations were nicely scouted as well as the outfits and looks Billy Bloom sports are simply gorgeous!


Thanks for coming to my blog again and for being so patient with the delay. Hope you enjoyed today’s post and please let me know what you think of the ‘Freak Show’ and let me know what else you want to see on the blog. See you next Saturday!


Sandy hugs and salty kisses,

Neville xx

48 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page