top of page
Search

Vogue, Are You Ready? Doubt it.

In today's blog post I will be walking you through my creative process and execution when it comes to coming up with an outfit! A tutorial that is great for the diva, the geek and the spooky - keep reading!

Inspiration What kind of look are you going for? Specific decade? Character? Subtle cosplay? Glam? Go around and window shop and see what catches your eye!


Sketching

Sketch out multiple outfits featuring different garments and styles to see what kind of clothes you need and how they go together. It also helps you check the kind of silhouette that would fit the look most!


Colours!

Get your coloured pencils out and fill in the sketch with colours - a necessary step when it comes to seeing what colours work out the best together. If you are going for a character it helps to research the specific colour palette used by the artist.


Check Your Closet!

We have been in there before and we are not scared to go back in to find some cute clothes! Check what you have in there first. Do not just run to the shopping mall and spend your hard-earned coin when you could have upcycled something from your own closet! Plus, think about the waste you would be generating!


D to the I to the Y!

Basically, this step entails anything from alterations to clothing items and embellishments to even constructing props or sewing clothes from scratch! Go wild and slay the game with your own made-to-measure outfit!


Beat That Mug! Again - check the character's style and colour palette, or the decade's fashion to really capture the essence of the character or era! You can also check out how I achieve most of my looks with the must-have palettes that I carry with me everywhere!


How's Your Head?

This entails anything from wigs, crowns, flower crowns to even styling your own hair - again, check the character or era for further inspiration!



.................................................................................


Hope you enjoyed today's blog post! Tune in next Saturday to see me dissecting a look I did! Check my Instagram as well because I will put up a poll for you to vote which look you want to see my dissect!


Sandy hugs and salty kisses,

Neville xx

45 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page