top of page
Search

Hey Blakk Velvet, Let’s Get Draggy - An Interview with Kim Cauchi!

Welcome to today’s totally out of the box interview! Today we have Kim Cauchi also known as Blakk Velvet - a tattoo artist by day and drag artist by night! She will be talking about her life as a cis-woman doing drag and much more!


When did you start doing drag and what inspired you to start doing drag?

I started doing drag publicly very recently, about 5 months ago when I went out for the first time in drag in December 2019 for Lollipop Malta’s (monthly local gay party) Mask4Mask. I had always enjoyed dressing up in costumes as different characters for carnival when I was younger and later on I dabbled in some cosplay as well, but following different drag kings online had certainly inspired to try my hand at it.

Does being a drag artist and performer have to be related to gender identity/roles?

I think at the very core of it, it does challenge what we view to be traditional gender roles and is also a good way to explore our own gender identity. As a queer cis-woman, growing up I had always felt out of place compared to other girls and women of my age who were petite, graceful, soft in their nature and there I was, tall, large, broad and an attitude one would never label as lady-like. Drag has helped me take these aspects of myself that I used to think were negative and change them into something I can create art with.


What kind of support do you have from your friends and family?

I feel extremely privileged to come from a household and group of friends that are extremely supportive of whatever I do. I know others don’t have this luxury so I’m very grateful for all the support I’ve been shown.

Have you performed live? What was it like?

I haven’t performed live in person however I performed to “Tear you apart” by She Wants Revenge in Malta’s first digital drag show “Aw Oht”. It was my first performance of any kind as Blakk Velvet. It was great fun, stressful, LOADS of work but such an amazing experience.


How has your style/look developed over the years?

I went through so many phases as a teen, running around wearing winklepickers and waistcoats to dying my hair in coloured stripes (a choice). Nothing was too risky or adventurous, and that’s something I’ve carried with me till now. If I like it, I’ll try it, no matter what category of style it falls under.

How would you describe your drag and what does your drag look process involve?

So far I’d say my drag is quite gender nonconforming, at times more masculine or more feminine - it depends on what mood I’m in and what character I want to explore. My process of getting into drag looks a bit like a paint by numbers page since I sketch out what shapes I want first.

What’s your favourite makeup product your drag persona can’t live without?

I absolutely cannot live without my Prismatic Palette by Give Face Cosmetics.


What skills do you think are essential for drag?

Apart from the most obvious like makeup, From my last performance, I quickly learnt we need to be our own one-person studio, so things like sewing, dancing, lipsynching or some basic knowledge in photography and editing would be very beneficial.

Is there any cross over from your daily personality and your drag persona?

Mostly the masculine aspects of my self that I had tried to stamp out when I was younger are now able to flourish. I can also live out my fascination with horror movies and pop culture by dressing up like a Transylvanian necromancer which is always fun.


What is something shocking most people don’t realize about being a drag artist and performer?

How time-consuming and labour intensive it is to create a fully-realized look. It’s by no means easy and there’s a lot of trial and error involved but it’s so worth the effort.

What is your experience as a drag artist in Malta, both in terms of society and other drag artists and performers?

In terms of other queens I’ve personally been shown nothing but support and encouragement and It’s been amazing to finally see everyone get together. As for society, there have been the positives which I’ve been shown support and instances where people “didn’t get it” especially since I’m a cis-woman doing drag. Some still don’t believe there’s space for women in drag but I have no problem challenging that view.


How do you feel about the drag community in Malta?

I’m one of the newer kings to have recently emerged and I think there’s been a bit of resurgence in drag in recent years which I think is absolutely amazing to be able to grow alongside talented performers.

Which other artists and performers (drag or otherwise) do you admire?

I look up to Androgin King, Creme Fatale and the Boulet brothers a lot in terms of drag and also artists and tattooists such as Fakehauswives on Instagram and Emily Rose Murray, they inspire both my art for tattoos and makeup.


What questions do you get asked a lot?

Probably how long I’ve been doing drag and as of late “imma when’s the tattoo studio going to be open?”

Any interesting projects on the horizon?

Yes! Going to be working on more digital performances and also working with MRGM to create some interesting events especially once social distancing is relaxed!


Do you have a message for those interested in partaking in drag?

Go for it, don’t be afraid to experiment and don’t be afraid to step out of your comfort zone!

 

Thank you Kim for giving us such an honest insight into the amazing world of drag artistry! As a fan and baby drag queen myself, I personally found this interview so interesting and I learned more about this art that I am partaking in but through someone else’s point of view! Make sure to check her out on Instagram and give her some mermaid loving! Hope you enjoyed today’s post and see you next Saturday!

Sandy hugs and salty kisses,

Neville xx


248 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page